TPO16 - North Gippsand Line

The railway from Melbourne to Sale opened in 1877 with service extended to Bairnsdale in 1887. TPO service began soon after the 1877 opening. TPO8 operated between Melbourne and Bairnsdale but by 1917 it only went as far as Traralgon. TPO9 may not have travelled as far as Bairnsdale.  TPO15 and 16 were added in 1885.

Stations served include Caulfield, Beaconsfield, Pakenham, Bunyip, Drouin, Warragul, Yarragon, Trafalgar, Moe, Morwell, Traralgon, Loy Yang, Rosedale, Sale, Stratford and Bairnsdale.

TPO's 8, 9, 15 and 16 operated along this rail route.


T16-U1 (Uptrain)

The 25mm circle cancel is recorded from August 10, 1885 until June 9, 1908.

It is a very common strike and covers are also common.



T16-U2 (Uptrain)

The 28mm circle cancel is recorded from August 18, 1908 until October 12, 1917.

It is common on stamps but I've only recorded 3 covers so far.


T16-D1 (Downtrain)

The first downtrain cancel is the 25mm octagon. The earliest recorded date is November 28, 1885 and the latest recorded date is December 2, 1907.

This is a common cancel on stamps, and reasonably common on cover.


T16-D2 (Downtrain)

The 28mm circle downtrain cancel is recorded as early as September 17, 1908 and as late as May 21, 1917.

It is reasonably common on stamps, but I have only recorded 1 cover.


The Early and Late Record Dates shown are those published by Purves, or otherwise confirmed to me by various TPO collectors based on inventory in their respective collections.

Rarity factors shown have been deduced from the aggregate inventory of several major collections in this field, exceeding 10,000 strikes on loose stamps and 1050 covers in total; however, the statements on relative rarity are observations only and no warranty of accuracy shall be implied.

Reference: Victoria: The Travelling Post Offices and Their Markings (1865-1912) by JWRPurves (1979


<< Previous | Menu | Next >>