TPO11 - Stawell

The Railway from Ballarat to Ararat was opened in 1874 and extended to Stawell in 1876. TPO 11 provided service from Melbourne to Stawell, unlike TPO7 which only operated from Ballarat to Ararat.

Stations served include Werribee, Lara, Geelong, Ballarat, Ararat and Stawell.

TPOs 7 and 11 served along this route.


T11-U1 (Uptrain)

The 22mm circle cancellation is first recorded on December 17, 1885 and is last recorded on March 5, 1907

It is very common on both stamps and covers.


T11-U2 (Uptrain)

The 28mm circle stamp is recorded from June 8, 1907 until November 10, 1916.

It is a common strike on loose stamps but I have only recorded 5 covers.


T11-U2a (Uptrain)
This has been reported to me but I have not yet seen any scans.  It is stated to have a double circle and dated April 1, 1911. Only one example has been cited. 



The 22mm octagon was recorded from December 31, 1891 until May 1906.

This a fairly common cancellation on stamps but I have only recorded 2 covers to date.


T11-D2 (Downtrain)

The 28mm circle is first recorded on July 10,1907 and last recorded on October 22, 1912.

This is a scarce cancel on stamps and I have not yet recorded any covers.


The Early and Late Record Dates shown are those published by Purves, or otherwise confirmed to me by various TPO collectors based on inventory in their respective collections.

Rarity factors shown have been deduced from the aggregate inventory of several major collections in this field, exceeding 10,000 strikes on loose stamps and 1050 covers in total; however, the statements on relative rarity are observations only and no warranty of accuracy shall be implied.

Reference: Victoria: The Travelling Post Offices and Their Markings (1865-1912) by JWRPurves (1979


<< Previous | Menu | Next >>