TPO09 - North Gippsland Line

The railway from Melbourne to Sale opened in 1877 with service extended to Bairnsdale in 1887. TPO service began soon after the 1877 opening. TPO8 operated between Melbourne and Bairnsdale but by 1917 it only went as far as Traralgon. TPO9 may not have travelled as far as Bairnsdale.  TPO15 and 16 were added in 1885.

Stations served include Caulfield, Beaconsfield, Pakenham, Bunyip, Drouin, Warragul, Yarragon, Trafalgar, Moe, Morwell, Traralgon, Loy Yang, Rosedale, Sale, Stratford and Bairnsdale.

TPO's 8, 9, 15 and 16 operated along this rail route.


T09-U1 (Uptrain)

A 22mm circle was the first cancellation used.  It is recorded from June 9, 1880 until September 8, 1908.

It is very common on both stamps and covers.


T09-U2 (Uptrain)

The next canceallation seen is a 28mm circle (Type 1) with the word UP to the left of the date. It is recorded from September 16, 1908 until December 29, 1921. A single example of a second type with the word UP to the right of the date has been reported to me, but I have not yet been able to confirm this.

It is very common on stamps but quite scarce on cover.


T09-D1 (Downtrain)

The 22mm octagon type is recorded from August 13, 1879 until June 2, 1908.

This is a common strike on loose stamps but very scarce on cover.


T09-D2 (Downtrain)

The next cancel is a 28mm circle.  The earliest recorded date is October 30, 1908 and the latest recorded date is February 9, 1922.

This is fairly scarce on loose stamps and I have only recorded 2 covers to date.


The Early and Late Record Dates shown are those published by Purves, or otherwise confirmed to me by various TPO collectors based on inventory in their respective collections.

Rarity factors shown have been deduced from the aggregate inventory of several major collections in this field, exceeding 10,000 strikes on loose stamps and 1050 covers in total; however, the statements on relative rarity are observations only and no warranty of accuracy shall be implied.

Reference: Victoria: The Travelling Post Offices and Their Markings (1865-1912) by JWRPurves (1979


<< Previous | Menu | Next >>